It starts so early

This weekend was my daughter’s first dance recital. Like any 3 1/2 year old, it was a BIG deal. So I thought nothing of it when it was the topic of our daily conversation. Each night she parades around the house, tiara propped on her head just so, pirouetting, smiling, eyes closed in joy. It is absolutely enchanting.

Then she did something that stopped me in my tracks… She looked up at me with genuine concern in her eyes and said “Do you think Jasper will think I’m beautiful?” Three and a half and she is already worrying about this? Three and a half?

Mind you, Jasper is an adorable, mischievous little boy in her dance class. The two of them are like peas in a pod. I’ve been aware that he is her favorite buddy for some time and he is not to blame. He is just the mirror she is using for the moment. I just didn’t want her to worry about needing to measure up. Not now, not ever. I hoped that this miraculous human being who I have nurtured in love to go a bit further in her life before she ever questioned her beauty or her worth in the eyes of others, especially in the eyes of a boy.

Sweetheart, you are extraordinary. You need only to measure up to yourself. Not anyone else’s standards. Please baby girl, be yourself and don’t let self-doubt diminish your dreams. Not for one second. You are enough.DSC_0388

 

Leave a Reply

